Private messages work a little like email, but are limited to registered members with 15+posts. you may include bb code, smilies and images in private messages that you send.
You may send a private message to a member by clicking the Private Message found by clicking on your username in the upper right on any page.
You can also send a pm to a member by clicking on their username in a post. This will take you to their profile page where you will see SEND PM.
How do I work with private message folders?
By default, you will have two folders in your private message area. These are the 'Inbox' and the 'Sent' items folders.
The 'Inbox' folder contains any new messages you receive. It allows you to view all the messages you have received, along with the name of the person who sent it, and the date and time it was sent.
The 'Sent items' folder contains a copy of any messages that you have sent.
You can create additional folders for your messages by clicking the 'Edit Folders' link.
Each folder has the following options which can be found at the bottom of the list:
- Move to folder
- Mark as read
- Mark as unread
- Download as xml
- Download as csv
- Download as text
You will need to periodically delete old messages. Each type of membership has a limit to the number of private messages one can have in their folders. If you exceed this number, you will not be able to send or receive new messages until you delete some old ones.
If you would like to keep a record of your messages before you delete them, you can use any of the 'Download as..' options listed above to take a copy and store them on your own computer.
Whenever you read a message, you will have the option to reply or forward it to another member. You may also have the ability to forward that message to multiple members of your contact list.
How do I track messages?
when you send a new private message, you may (depending on type of membership) have the option to request a read-receipt. This lets you check whether or not a message has been read by its recipient. to do this, go to the 'message tracking' page.
This page is divided into two sections: unread and read messages.
The unread messages section shows all messages that you have sent with a read-receipt request, that have not yet been read by their recipient.
The read messages section shows all messages you have sent with a receipt request that have been read and acknowledged by their recipient. The time that the message was read is also shown.
You may choose to end the tracking on any message you choose by selecting it and clicking the 'end tracking' button.
When you receive a message with a read-receipt request, you may have the option to read the message while denying the read-receipt request. To do this, simply click the 'deny receipt' link rather than the title of the message, if it appears.
How do I know if I receive/have a message to be read?
If you have messages waiting to be read in your inbox, you will be notified via a big red Alert Bar that will display at the top of the page. It will be visible on any page that you are reading. The Alert Bar is a big red bar that displays whenever you have an Unread Alert.